Board of Trustees

The Byerly Foundation was created after the sale of the Byerly Hospital to continue to serve the Hartsville community. Since the sale, a significant number of community leaders have served on The Byerly Foundation Board.

Current Board Members


Bob Brown – 2014: Chair: Bob is the CEO of Integrated Systems, Inc. He also serves as President of the GSSM Foundation and is a Member of the GSSM Board of Trustees. He began his term at the Foundation in 2014 and became Foundation Chair in 2018.



Susan Daniels Henderson – 2017: Foundation Secretary: Susan is the Provost and Dean of Faculty at Coker University. Locally, she is on the Board of Directors at Thomas Hart Academy and serves as an Elder at First Presbyterian Church.  She and her husband Kyle live in Hartsville with their two children.


Lex West – 2015: Foundation Treasurer: Lex is an owner and President of West Oil Company. He is a long-term board member of the YMCA of the Upper Pee Dee and Chairman of their Endowment Committee. He and his wife Sherry have two boys, Croxton and Joshua. He is also a member of St. Luke United Methodist Church and a board member of the Darlington County Education Foundation.

Bill Perry – 2014: Bill is the founder and senior consultant of Innovatus Group, an organizational development consultancy. For 18 years, he has served as a non-profit senior leader in Hartsville and this fueled his passion for seeing and helping business teams succeed. He has great experience in human resources and corporate operations. He and his wife, Heather, live in Hartsville.

Roger Schrum – 2016: Roger is currently Vice President of Investor Relations and Corporate Affairs for Sonoco Products Company (NYSE: SON).  He is a member of Sonoco’s Executive and Management committees and serves as the Chair of the Company’s Sustainability Council and the Sonoco Foundation, the Company’s philanthropic arm. He also serves on the Board of Directors for the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce; Central Carolina Community Foundation; the South Carolina Agribusiness Alliance; North East Strategic Alliance; the YMCA of the Upper Pee Dee and the board of trustees for the South Carolina Business and Industry Education Committee. Mr. Schrum resides in Hartsville, South Carolina, with his wife, Connie. They have four grown children and five grandchildren.

Linda Weatherford – 2015:  Linda Weatherford is President/CEO of SPC Credit Union. She serves as a member of the Hartsville Rotary, McLeod Hospital Hope Committee, and board member of the Carolinas Credit Union League. She is also an active volunteer serving on the Pee Dee Harvest Hope Food Bank Advisory Board and SPC’s Care2Share Employee giving campaign. She is married to Mike Weatherford and is the mother of two boys, Robbie and Jordan.

Patrick Youngblood – 2017:  Pat Youngblood is Assistant Treasurer and Director of Global Tax at Sonoco Products Company. Married with three grown boys, Pat is originally from Hopewell, Virginia, and a 20 year Hartsville resident.  In addition to serving on the Byerly board, Pat is a board member and Treasurer of Florence Little Theatre.  Pat also enjoys playing music and is a member of the Florence Area Big Band, and several other local music and singing groups.

Christopher Shirley – 2017:  Christopher Shirley is HMDA Auditor for South Carolina State Credit Union. He is involved in a wide variety of civic and professional organizations, including The Hartsville Planning Commission where he serves as Vice Chair Board of Directors for Cypress Adventures, Butler Heritage Foundation, CAM Connection, Iconic Sport Performance.

Dr. Orville Dyce – 2019: Orville Dyce, MD, is a double board-certified and fellowship-trained otolaryngologist who’s been in private practice since 2003. At Black Creek Medical Consultants, Dr. Dyce shares his expertise and skill in treating sinus and allergies, thyroid and vestibular disorders, and other ENT conditions with the women, men, and children in Hartsville and Cheraw, South Carolina.

Casey Hancock – 2020: Casey Hancock runs Bear Squared, an IT Consulting Firm he established in 2016. He specializes in data analytics and visualization alongside small business tech support. He is an active community member serving with Main Street Hartsville and the Hartsville Planning Commission. He also is working on some business development projects in the Hartsville downtown area.

Byerly Foundation Board Members Since the Beginning:

Harris DeLoach   (1995-2007, 2013-2016)

Thomas C. Coxe, III (1995-1996)

Lee Hicks (1995-2007)

Franklin Hines (1995-2006)

Howard Tucker (1995-2007)

Frank Popelars (1995-2003)

Edgar Lawton (1997-2002)

Gloria Bell (1997-2005)

Charles Hupfer (1999-2005, 2007-2013)

Paula Terry (2000-2006)

Leroy Robinson (2001-2007)

Heather Norwood (2002-2008)

Vicki Arthur (2003-2009)

Maureen Thomas (2005 – 2011)

Ronald Holley (2005-2011)

David McFarland (2006-2009)

Tony Floyd (2006-2020)

David McFarland (2006-2009)

Flora Hopkins (2006-2012)

Jerry Cheatham (2007-2013)

Beth Blum (2007-2008)

Steve Avant (2008 – 2014)

Johnna Shirley (2008-2014)

Rob Tiede (2009 – 2014)

Monty Bell (2010-2016)

David Blackmon (2007-2013)

Alvin Heatley (2011-2011)

Todd Shifflett (2012 – 2015)

Brianna Douglas (2012-2018)

Barry Saunders (2011-2017)

Chris Frazier (2012 – 2017)

Jerome Reyes (2013 – 2019)

Nancy McGee (2013 –

Rainey Knight (2014 –

Bill Perry (2014 –

Bob Brown (2014 –

Lex West (2015 –

Roger Schrum (2016 –

Chris Shirley (2017 –

Linda Weatherford (2017

Susan Henderson (2017 –

Pat Youngblood (2017 –

Dr. Orville Dyce (2019 –

Casey Hancock (2020 –

The Byerly Foundation Blog

Nothing About Us, Without Us

“Nothing About Us Without Us.” Community development, community growth, community enrichment is not something that just happens. Healthy, vital, growing communities need constant care, constant...


The Byerly Foundation is active in the Pandemic

Rolling Grant Cycle The Byerly Foundation Board voted at the beginning of the COVID-19 Pandemic to open grant making on a month by month basis instead of having a single grant cycle. As a result,...


Receive Updates in Your Inbox